Four HCA Houston Healthcare hospitals have earned an ‘A’ from The Leapfrog Group’s spring 2020 Hospital Safety Grade ratings. The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization committed to improving healthcare quality and safety for consumers and purchasers.

The four hospitals that received an ‘A’ grade include:

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Conroe
  • HCA Houston Healthcare Kingwood
  • HCA Houston Healthcare Pearland
  • HCA Houston Healthcare West

“Patient safety has always been a top priority for HCA Houston Healthcare and I congratulate our colleagues for their commitment to patient care. Our hospitals are a trusted part of each community we serve and these ratings reinforce our commitment to best practices that help us deliver higher quality care,” said Mujtaba Ali-Khan, DO, chief medical officer of HCA Houston Healthcare. “We believe in continually moving healthcare forward and we strive for excellence in patient safety at all of our care facilities.”

“Our goal is to inform patients about local hospitals with the best safety measures in place and the strongest records,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “Every hospital can earn an ‘A’ grade, and we’re proud of the hospitals that are committed to making an effort to protect patients from harm.”

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign A, B, C, D and F letter grades to hospitals nationwide twice per year. It is calculated by top patient safety experts, peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public.

To see the full the list of grades and data collected, visit