HCA Houston Healthcare
December 16, 2020

Four facilities receive ‘A’ for the Fall 2020 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade

Houston, TX – Four HCA Houston Healthcare hospitals have earned an ‘A’ for the fall 2020 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, a national distinction recognizing achievements protecting patients from harm and providing safer health care. The Leapfrog Group is an independent national watchdog organization committed to health care quality and safety. The Safety Grade assigns an ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, ‘D’ or ‘F’ grade to all general hospitals across the country and is updated every six months. It is based on a hospital’s performance in preventing medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections and other harms to patients in their care.

The four HCA Houston Healthcare hospitals that received an ‘A” grade include:

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Conroe
  • HCA Houston Healthcare Northwest
  • HCA Houston Healthcare Pearland
  • HCA Houston Healthcare West

“At HCA Houston Healthcare, we exist to give patients a healthier tomorrow and their safety is our top priority,” said Mujtaba Ali-Khan, DO, chief medical officer of HCA Houston Healthcare. “It is an honor for these hospitals to receive this recognition, especially during this turbulent time in healthcare. I’m tremendously proud of our medical staff and care teams for their commitment to following best practices that helps us continually deliver higher-quality and safe care to our patients.”

“We are extremely grateful to hospital leadership and health care workers who have remained steadfast in prioritizing patient safety as our nation battles COVID-19,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “These ‘As’ are a testament to the care and commitment of those who work for these selected HCA Houston Healthcare hospitals. With the current pandemic exposing existing flaws within the U.S. health care system, we appreciate you putting patient safety first. Lives depend on it.”

Developed under the guidance of a national Expert Panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses up to 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public.

The fall 2020 safety grades were announced on Dec. 14. To see each hospital’s full grade details and access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit Leapfrog's Hospital Safety Grade site and follow The Leapfrog Group on Twitter and Facebook.